The Nomination Panel

The Buckinghamshire Nomination Panel for the appointment of future High Sheriffs is currently comprised of sixteen members, who represent an inclusive cross-section of those connected with the current Shrievalty as well representatives of the broader community. The current Chair of the Buckinghamshire Nomination Panel is The Reverend Gill Barrow-Jones. The Under Sheriff is the Secretary of the Nomination Panel. Further details of the members of the Nomination Panel can be found below.

How does it work?

The Buckinghamshire Nomination Panel normally meets twice each year. Each member of the Nomination Panel is encouraged to put forward candidates that they feel would meet the essential criteria and characteristics for the role of High Sheriff. At the October meeting, candidates are reviewed and considered, and the current High Sheriff is then tasked with approaching the consensus candidate. Candidates are nominated four years in advance to provide sufficient time for preparation, as well as a pool of approved candidates should unexpected events occur.

The names of the future High Sheriffs in Nomination are kept confidential until they have been read out at the Nomination Ceremony in the Royal Courts of Justice in November each year.

The Nomination Panel

Dame Ann Limb DBE DL
Dame Ann Limb DBE DLHigh Sheriff
The Countess Howe
The Countess HoweLord-Lieutenant of Buckinghamshire
Debbie Brock DL
Debbie Brock DLImmediate Past High Sheriff
Serene Taylor
Serene TaylorUnder Sheriff (Secretary)
Kurshida Mirza BEM
Kurshida Mirza BEMHigh Sheriff in Nomination
The Rev Gill Barrow Jones
The Rev Gill Barrow JonesIndependant Chair, Senior figure from a faith group
Shalom Lloyd
Shalom LloydBusiness Leader
Mohammed Hanif
Mohammed HanifCommunity Leader
Rachael Shimmin
Rachael ShimminChief Executive of Buckinghamshire Council
Michael Bracey
Michael BraceyChief Executive of Milton Keynes Council
Jason Hogg
Jason HoggChief Constable of Thames Valley Police
Henry Allmand
Henry AllmandChief Executive of the Heart of Bucks Community Foundation
Ian Revell
Ian RevellChief Executive of the Milton Keynes Community Foundation
Professor Nick Braisby
Professor Nick BraisbyVice Chancellor Buckinghamshire New University
HHJ Francis Sheridan
HHJ Francis SheridanResident Crown Court Judge (Judiciary)
Pamela Roberts
Pamela RobertsJustice of the Peace (Magistracy)

Find out more about the High Sheriff

Current High Sheriff

Kurshida Mirza BEM

High Sheriffs in Nomination

Past High Sheriffs


Find out more about what the High Sheriff is currently up to